Native American Indian Commission

Self-Governance Board

On February 23, 1993 the Board of Supervisors approved the creation of the Los Angeles City/County Native American Indian Commission Self-Governance Board to meet all the requirements of American Indian community self-governance and self-determination. This Board is established to administer public/private funds, particularly those funds that have Indian self-governance requirements. This Board will not compete for funding with any non-profit American Indian community based organization providing services in the County of Los Angeles.

The Board is composed of the following members:

  1. Each of the five (5) Indian Community Elected Commissioners.
  2. One Board of Supervisors appointed Commissioner and one City of Los Angeles appointed Commissioner. Both of these members shall be selected by the Commission Chairperson.
  3. The Commission Chairperson shall serve as an ex-officio member of this Board.

The term of Board membership for the community elected Commissioners will coincide with their term on the Commission. The term of Board membership for the Chairperson appointed members will be at the discretion of the Chairperson.


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Comments are closed.